If you're seeing client messages marked as Declined or Not_Opted_In, it's likely that the client hasn’t opted in to receive manually issued messages from your account.
This behavior is tied to a platform update introduced in Release 8.19 (October 22, 2024), which added new opt-in requirements for invitation messaging to comply with email and SMS messaging standards.
In this help doc we'll cover -
What Changed?
With this update, new "Allow Messages" checkboxes were added in two places -
- On the Your Information panel during appointment booking
- On the My Profile page of the Client Scheduler
These checkboxes are enabled by default on the Your Information panel, but clients can choose to uncheck them during booking - 
If they do, they will get opted out of receiving any non-essential emails not directly related to appointments or manually sent invitation templates.
Client Opt-In Requirement
- To receive non-essential emails and SMS messages, clients must have the Allow Messages boxes checked on their profiles. A client can check these boxes either when booking an appointment or by editing their profile from the Client Scheduler. If the boxes are not checked, any manual messaging that gets sent to that client will be marked as Declined or Not_Opted_In and won’t be delivered.
Staff Limitations
- Staff cannot change a client’s messaging preferences from the Backoffice - clients must log into their client profile on the Client Scheduler and update this setting themselves.
How to Fix This
Because the messaging opt-in settings can only be set by the client themselves, you will need to allow your clients to log in on your booking sites so that they can make changes to those settings. You can read more about updating your client login settings here.
If a message wasn’t delivered because a client was not opted in, you'll need to do the following -
- Have the client log in to their scheduler account.
- Have them navigate to My Account > My Profile.
- Have them click to Edit > Check the box next to Allow Messages > Click to Save.
- Once this box is checked, you can resend any previously declined messages.
