The Check In Screen is a tool that can be set up on a designated kiosk at your location so that your clients can enter their Name or Appointment ID to find their appointment and check themselves in.
By default, new appointments are created in an Open status. You have the option to mark an appointment as Checked In as clients arrive for their appointments, which will time stamp the start time of the appointment and display it on the Audit Trail. An appointment can be moved to a Checked In status either by the staff in the Backoffice or from a designated kiosk using the Check In Screen described below.
In this help doc we'll cover -
Setting up the Check In Screen
To configure the Check In Screen, you'll need to navigate to Dashboard > Check In Screen -
The Configure your Check In Screen page has the following setup options -
Check In Title - Set the title that appears at the top of your check in for.
Appointment ID Search - Allows clients to search for their appointments in the check in screen using their Appointment ID.
Appointment ID Placeholder - Appears in the search field if you have Appointment ID search turned on.
Appointment ID Result Fields - Presents the information about the appointment that will display in the results after the client searches by Appointment ID.
Client Search - Allows clients to enter their name, email, phone, etc, and pull up a list of appointments scheduled for them.
Client Search Placeholder - Shows what appears in the search field if you have Client Search turned on.
Client Search Result Fields - Shows what appears in the results table if you have Client Search turned on.
Action Items - Shows the buttons that appear in the search results for your clients to use. Based on your selection, you can allow your clients to only Check In or Print their appointment details.
Seconds before check in dismisses - Determines how long the confirmation message stays on screen before disappearing after a client checks in by entering how many seconds the confirmation message should stay on the page. If you are asking your clients to print their ticket, it's a good idea to leave the confirmation message on the screen a little longer.
Password to exit Check In View - If you enter into the Check In Only View, this will be the password you will have to enter to return to the Backoffice.
Enter Check In Only View button - Click this button to enter the Check In Screen.
Preview - After you have made your selections to configure your check in screen, you can preview it here.
Example Setup
In the example below we have set up the check in screen as follows -
The Check In Screen Title has been changed to read only "Check In".
Client Search has been enabled so that clients can search appointments by their name.
The Client Search Placeholder has been changed to "Enter your name".
After searching for their appointment, clients will see their name, the staff name and both the appointment's date and time.
Clients are only allowed to check in and not print their appointment information.
The confirmation message is set to stay in the screen for 7 seconds.
After the necessary changes have been made, click on the green Update Settings button to see a preview of the Check In Screen under the Preview section -
Enabling the Check In Only View
To view the Check In view, you'll need to click on the Enter Check In Only View button -
You will then be taken to the Check In view -
How Clients Can Check in for Service Appointments
For this example, let's say a retirement consulting firm takes 1-on-1 appointments and also organizes seminars where multiple clients can attend at once. They have a dedicated kiosk set up in the office lobby to allow clients to check in when they arrive at the office, which allows staff members to focus on wrapping up their current appointments. After the Check In Screen has been set up and the Check In Only View has been enabled, clients will be able to type their name in the Client Search field and click on the magnifying glass icon to see their appointment information -
After the client clicks on that magnifying glass icon, the appointment information will appear below. At this point the client can click on the blue Check In button -
Once the client has checked in, a message will appear to confirm that they have successfully checked in and will stay on the page for the number of seconds set in the 'Seconds before check in dismisses' field -
After the client has checked in, a check mark icon (☑) will be added to their appointment in the Calendar view -
The appointment profile will also show the updated Checked In status and display the date and time when the client checked in -
The Checked In information can also be viewed from the Appointments > Appointment Lists page -
After the appointment has taken place, you can mark it as completed from the appointment profile by clicking on the Status button and choosing Completed from the dropdown menu -
How clients can check in for appointments for classes
Clients can also check in for appointments that are part of a class session. In this example, a financial education seminar has been scheduled with a maximum capacity of 10 attendees. This time clients will be able to search for their appointment using their appointment ID (1) - which can be found in their appointment confirmation email and reminder - or name (2). The option for clients to Print their appointment information at the time of check in has been enabled, and the 'Seconds before check in dismisses' setting has been increased to 15 seconds to give the clients enough time to click on the Print button (3). These changes can be made under Dashboard > Check In Screen -
After the changes have been made, the Check In Only View can be enabled on the kiosk that is set up for the clients. Now when a client enters their appointment ID or name, they will have the option to check in first -
Once they've checked in, they will have the option to print their appointment information -
Allowing clients to print their appointment information is not limited to checking in for appointments that are part of class sessions - the same function can be applied when clients are checking in for service appointments.
This will bring up a new window with a preview of the appointment details and an icon to print at the top right -
If you go to the Class Session Details screen, you'll be able to see which clients have checked in for the session -